Austrian health portal
Content area

Member State of treatment

Europa © bluedesign
Europa © bluedesign

Under European Patient Mobility Directive 2011/24/EU , persons who have medical insurance in a European Union Member State or in the EEA States Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway have the option of receiving healthcare services in Austria. In this case Austria would be the Member State of treatment.   

The Directive does not apply to long-term care services, nor to services in the domain of organ transplants and public vaccination programs.

Patient mobility contact points

The patient mobility contact points are your source of information in the cross-border healthcare area. You can send in your requests by e-mail.

National contact point for cross-border healthcare
Stubenring 6
A-1010 Vienna (Austria)

The National Contact Point for Patient Mobility is available to patients and health care providers for information on cross-border health care between Austria and other EU/EEA countries. You can write your inquiries by e-mail. 

We will try to answer your request within 5 working days. The response time depends on the scope/content of the request.Our service is free of charge. We offer our service in German and English.

National contact points in other countries

You can find information on the national contact points in other countries here.

Print page Display RSS-feed Share page Feedback EU Feedback
scroll to top